The Valley Line: Thursday Club looks to both past and future

June 02, 2012|By Jane Napier Neely
  • The incoming board of officers were announced for the La Canada Thursday Club. In the front row, from left, are Barbara Robison, hospitality; Mary Hennessey, recording secretary; Abha Goel, general curator; Joani Bartoli-Porto, house chair; Sue Tutt, general curator; Aline Kuhnle, corresponding secretary; Dotty Greenawalt, financial secretary and Becky Lankey, treasurer. In the back row, from left, are Gale Caswell, president; Lori Mackenzie, fall ways and means; Dede Mann, courtesy chair; Sheri Morton, hostess; Patti WIckersham, membership; Barbara Self, vice president; Kim Bartine, membership; Joanne Gilson, recording secretary; and Jeannie Kay, rental chair.
The incoming board of officers were announced for the… (Photo by Jane Napier…)

The bands have marched by, the music has faded and the fireworks are but a memory. It was another momentous Fiesta Days for La Cañada Flintridge. I hope you joined some of the many activities that occurred over the weekend.

I really loved the fireworks on Sunday night — they were the best ever. Thank you to the Allen Lund Company for underwriting this portion of the evening. It was truly an ooh and ahh display of beautiful colors lighting up the dark sky.

And I absolutely had to be in the park Monday afternoon for the launch of this summer's Music in the Park series. Once again, Captain Cardiac and the Coronaries got everyone up on their feet and dancing. Members of the band walked out into the crowd to encourage hand-clapping, foot-stomping participation. One spectator lifted the sax player onto his shoulders and the music never stopped — quite a fete for both of them.


It was a good weekend.

The La Cañada Thursday Club is celebrating its 100th birthday this year. In May it dedicated its new fountain and patio garden in a lovely ceremony.

The beautifully tiled fountain was more than a year in the making and kudos go to the club's Centennial Garden Committee, chaired by Joanie Bartoli-Porto, and the Community Relations Committee, chaired by Sue Tutt and Barbara Self, for making this dream come true.

Club members who also worked on these two committees included Gale Caswell, Jean Chubb, Miriam Phillips, Karen Poindexter, Joellen Yundt, Louise Beggs, Judy Cooper, Aline Kuhnle, Linda Pebsworth, Jody Platisa, Barbara Robison, Jane Rosell, Jacquie Townsend and Alma Tycer.

The official dedication of the fountain, named the Fountain of Hope, began with a welcome from the outgoing president Judy Cooper.

“We envisioned a soothing water feature on the patio to symbolize the club's primary purposes: the promotion of friendship, encouragement, inspiration and hope among members as we journey together through life's ups and downs,” Cooper said.

She was presented with a certificate of acknowledgment from Julianne Hines, district director for Assemblyman Anthony Portantino.

Judy then introduced the chairs of the two committees and they stepped to the rostrum to share their thoughts on the fountain that was inspired by the late Thursday Club member Carolyn Moffett.

La Canada Valley Sun Articles La Canada Valley Sun Articles