Appointments made

City Council names 18 locals to commissions, investment panel.

May 20, 2010|By Megan O’Neil

The City Council on Monday filled 18 seats on four city commissions and one committee.

The city twice extended the application deadline due to a lack of applicants for positions on the Design, Parks and Recreation, Planning and Public Works and Traffic commissions and the Investment and Financing Advisory Committee. The city eventually received 29 applicants for 18 seats, said City Clerk Sylvia Baca.

“We are appreciative of those who take the time to apply,” Mayor Donald Voss said.

The candidates were interviewed by the City Council, and on Monday council members publicly voted on the appointments.

Appointed to the Planning Commission were incumbent Michael Davitt, Herand Der Sarkissian and Arun Jain; named to the Design Commission were incumbents Keith Tobias and Ted Vavoulis, along with Jon Moldafsky.


Incumbents Keith Ban and Gene Stein were appointed to the Investment and Financing Advisory Committee along with Kevin Tom.

Named to the Parks and Recreation Commission were incumbent Dave Nydam, Allen Koblin and Jeff Olson; new to the Public Works and Traffic Commission were Maureen Burch, Charles Gelhaar and Clyde Hemphill. Olivia Brown, Thomas Schafer and Joel Smith were appointed to the Public Safety Commission.

Commission and committee members serve four-year terms, and receive a small stipend. Members are limited to serving two consecutive terms.

In addition, nine applicants vied to fill eight seats on the Youth Council. Appointed to the Youth Council were incumbents Lauren Kambe and Kelly Want, Kelly Gregg, Anjali Jain, Alexander Keledjian, Sharon Kim, Kevork Kurdoghlian and Nicole Tobias.

All appointments are effective June 1. Council member Steve Del Guercio thanked the applicants for their participation and told those who were not appointed to a seat to reapply.

“Many of the people who have gone through the process have in fact applied a number of times in the past,” he said.

Youth council members serve two-year terms, and must be between 14 and 19 years old at the time of service.

La Canada Valley Sun Articles La Canada Valley Sun Articles